The Way That Seems Right


There is a way which seemeth right unto a man, but the end thereof are the ways of death. (Pro 14:12) There is a way that seemeth right unto a man, but the end thereof are the ways of death. (Pro 16:25)

I’ve noticed that some things in my Bible seem so important that God put the same statement in there more than once.  I was searching for the specific phrase above in my Bible and found that this phrase appeared twice in Proverbs. This Proverb was so important that the Lord put it in His Word twice. Anything the Lord states more than once in the Bible should be noted and carefully obeyed, don’t you think? Why do you think God did that in today’s verses, teen girl?

I can’t speak for God because His thoughts are not mine (Is. 55:8-9), but I can get a pretty good idea. I’ve always heard preaching on this verse in conjunction with salvation. Oh how true it is!! When I was a “good” catholic, I just knew I was in the right religion. Why did I know that? Because I was told so.. not because I had studied the Word of God to come to my own conclusion.  Do you know why you go to a specific church, teen girl?  Is it because your parents go there or do you really know why?

Notice how the verses above state that this way of salvation seems right unto a man. Not “right unto the religious leaders” but unto the man himself. Every individual, every breathing soul that ever lived (this includes you, teen girl) will have to make this choice, this decision, for himself. We cannot place the burden of blame on someone else for the choices we make. Why, then, do we think that we can leave the decision of salvation to someone else?

When I look back on the day I got saved, I remember a young woman who thought she was “OK” with God because I belonged to the biggest/richest “church and religion” in the world. How could so many people be wrong? Praise my wonderful Father in Heaven for pricking my heart through His Holy Spirit and showing me that nothing and no one could remove the burden of guilt from me except Jesus Christ. No church, no priest, no pope can say that I have eternal salvation through them. Why do I know that? Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me. (Joh 14:6)

There’s only one way.  The Word of God says differently, Neither is there salvation in any other: for there is none other name under heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved. (Act 4:12) There is NO salvation in any other! None!

This way that I thought was the right way was leading me straight to hell. I wasn’t even questioning it. I wasn’t even concerned. I thank God daily for sending someone to warn me that I was heading down this path that was leading me to the ways of death! Thank You, Lord!  Where are you in this area, teen girl?  Do you go to church because your parents make you go?  Do you know that there is only one way to Heaven and that is by accepting Jesus Christ as your Saviour?  There is no other way!  You won’t be able to blame your ignorance on anyone but yourself.  God gives everyone of us a chance to get saved.  One day you’re going to have to meet Christ face-to-face – what will you tell Him?  Will you tell Him that you didn’t get saved because your parents didn’t take you to the right church?  That won’t be an excuse because God has given you the Bible to read.  You also have read this devotional – now you are responsible.

You may not be thinking about death at this time of your life because you are so young.  Most young people think they will live until they are old.  But many teen girls have died in car accidents. In 2010, seven teens ages 16 to 19 died every day from motor vehicle injuries! You cannot be 100% certain that you won’t become one of those statistics. Don’t take a chance with your eternity, teen girl. Make certain you know where you will spend it. You will spend it somewhere – either Heaven or Hell.  Don’t think you have all your life to make that decision. I’m sure the teen girls who died in car crashes felt that way but in a split second they woke up in eternity … but where?

For it is written, As I live, saith the Lord, every knee shall bow to me, and every tongue shall confess to God. (Rom 14:11)