Where to Begin


Matthew 6:9-13 After this manner therefore pray ye: Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name. 10 Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven. 11 Give us this day our daily bread. 12 And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors. 13 And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil: For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, for ever. Amen.

As I started my day in Bible reading, meditation and prayer, my thoughts fell on the “manner” which Christ taught us to pray. Jesus said, “After this “manner” therefore pray ye. He didn’t say repeat this prayer word-for-word like some mindless robot. He instructed us to pray “after this manner.” He is showing us, teen girl, that we can come to Him for all of our needs, both spiritually and physically. How we grow in this area of prayer will directly affect the power we have as Christians. Pray little, have little power. Pray much, have much power. I know that we all need the Holy Spirit’s power to overcome temptation and sin! If my day has not started with the essentials of reading, meditating and prayer, I’m a gonner. I’ve set myself up for spiritual defeat even before getting started! 😦 I really didn’t know what I was missing out on until I started my day with this pattern.

Give us this day our daily bread – I see this as a two-fold prayer request. (1) Any physical needs that I have, I can place before my Father and He will provide. Psalm 37:25 tells us that God does not forsake His child and, therefore, I will never be begging bread. (2) My spiritual food is a priority, (Luke 4:4) and I need to hear from God through His word daily to arm me for the day. Both of these give strength to the body; for what is my flesh without my spirit, and vice-versa? What can I accomplish in my day if I have not fed my body? I won’t have the calories to give my body energy and I will conk out early in the day. The same goes with my spiritual health. If I don’t feed myself in God’s word, I won’t have the strength to ward off Satan’s darts.

Your friends need to be able to witness your devotional life so they can learn for themselves. Do they see you reading my Bible? Have they ever seen or heard you praying? Do they observe God’s power through your walk? When prayers are answered, do you share them with your friends so they can see the results (James 5:16)? Just as you need daily food to sustain your life, teen girl, you need spiritual food to keep yourself strong for Christ.

So, are you read to eat? 🙂

